top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily

How to start your sewing project

Disclaimer, this is just a personal experience. Not a pro, so don't grill me on anything.


When I first started my sewing journey, there was just too much information all over the Internet, almost like walking into a crowded restaurant and given a 50 pages long menu written in a foreign language.


So... how do you even start your sewing project using your sewing machine?


Here's my quick guide to new sewists like me.


Things you'll need:

  • Sewing machine

  • A pattern of your choice

  • Fabric/supplies required by the pattern

  • Scissors and cutting mat


That is basically all you need for your sewing projects (for most of the parts!), really easy, right?


First and most important, your sewing machine.

I got my Brother Project Runway CS5055PRW (https://www.brother-usa.com/products/cs5055prw) from Amazon when it was on sale, I got it for less than $90, what a deal.

Image acquired from Brother-usa.com
Brother CS5055PRW

There's really no "correct" way to choosing your first sewing machine, but probably go with the ones with some good features to help you kick off projects smoothly would be nice.

The things I use the most on this sewing machine including:

(1) basic straight stitch (number 00, 01 on my CS5055PRW) for most of my woven projects

(2) knit stitch (number 03 on my CS5055PRW) for knit fabrics, allowing stretch (or alternatively, number 04, zigzag)

(3) zigzag stitch (number 04, 05 on my CD5055PRW)

(4) buttonhole (number 29-33), although there are other ways to make buttonholes without built-in buttonhole function, it's nice to have them.


Some people would ask that if a serger is necessary for projects? The answer is, no, you don't have to have a serger to make projects, but it does come in handy and save you a lot of time. But, a serger could be much much more expensive than a sewing machine.

I personally don't have a serger (it's on the top of the list).

There are ways to make a similar look to a serger using a sewing machine, but sergers can't do all the things your sewing machine does. The sewing machine is a must.


Bottom line, your budget. Don't settle for super cheap ones, but you also don't need something super expensive to successfully start your sewing.


Your sewing machine would likely (mine did) come in with many accessories including threads, needles, and bobbins. No need to buy many of them when you started. Do through your box, see what you have, then just get what you need as you sew.



Next, patterns and fabrics.

This is a common dilemma like "which came first: the chicken or the egg?" and I don't have the answer on whether you should buy fabrics first or get the pattern first.


My suggestion for newbies though, get a pattern you like first, then go get the fabrics.

The reason is that unless you're familiar with fabrics combination, it's hard to get the right fabrics that will fit the projects.



Ok, so, patterns.

When I first started, I went crazy online for free patterns (and I still love free patterns). There are many pattern companies that offer a few free patterns, and I will share them in another post.

When selecting your first patterns, I personally think patterns using light to medium weight woven fabrics (e.g. quilting cotton) are your friends. They are easy to work with and you can get cheap ones from Joann's, Walmart, Michaels, Amazon, or even recycle your old bedsheets.

Keep this in mind, your first project will NOT be your best project ever. So use some cheap fabrics to practice, then once you're good with it, go for your dream fabrics.


Patterns come in all forms, printed, PDF download (print and assemble at home), PDF in large format (print at stores like Office Depot), and PDF for using a projector.

Printed patterns such as Simplicity (https://www.simplicity.com/), Butterick (https://mccall.com/butterick/), and others can be found online or in-store. Personally not a fan of them, but you can definitely check them out.

I love those print at home ones, the only downside is that I am terrible at saving patterns, so I keep printing and cutting, takes a lot of time.

I have set the mind that once I move, I'll get myself a projector and projector mount, then start using a projector to cut patterns. If you are interested, check out this Facebook group (https://www.facebook.com/groups/ProjectorsForSewing/), people are super nice and helpful in terms of setting up a projector for sewing.



Scissors and cutting mat.

First and most importantly, dedicate a new pair of scissors for cutting your fabrics.

Your scissors need to be super sharp to cut the fabrics, once you cut papers or others, you won't be able to cut through fabrics smoothly without having to sharpen them. So get yourself a nice pair of new scissors for sewing projects!

If you like to use rotary cutters, Fiskars (Amazon link) has some great sets for you. A cutting mat and rotary cutter are handy if you prefer them over scissors, but not necessary.


These are just basics that you'll need to get through (or start) your first project, your patterns will be your guide!

I'll talk about my favorite pattern shops and free patterns in my next post for you if you want to start your sewing projects.


Alright, enough talking. I'll see you in my next blog post! Stay tuned!


24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page